

J.W. "PAT" IRELAND FELLOWS Donald L. Armstrong * Thomas Braun * Bobbye Brown "RB" Brown Bob Bullock Russ Cave John Chenault * Ron Christopher Tom Cockley Frank M. Dailey, Jr. * Ed Dance Don Dykman Nancy Edwards * Duane V. Ellis

Bill Leroy, Jr.

Bill Miller

John Lovd

Jack Owens

Brenda Rice

Jim Richardson

Len S. Shirrell '

Terry Shockley

Leroy V. Smith *

Sherrill G. Smith

Frank W. Sower **

Richard D. Taylor

Asa "Tip" Tipton

Lee Troutwine

Kurt R. Vezner

Ron Tyrer

Pete Walsh

Bill Webb

Dave Weller

Chuck Willis

Diane Willis

Bill Wingfield

Ann Franklin Wingrove

Minnie Lynn Sower '

Dean M. Sorg

Ed Speer

Jim Smith *

Carol M. Palmore '

John S. Palmore '

H.T. "Hub" Perdew

Ann Dix Maenza

Ethel Y. McCray '

Greg Fuchs Jim Graves * Polly Jo Green Charlie Hinds Teresa Hockensmith Barrv K. Holder Barry K. Holder, Jr. Joyce Honaker Lucinda Houghland Douglas K. Howell R. Clay Hulette Arthur L. Kelly Denis G. King Joe R. Johnson * Joe Russell Johnson **Bob Johnston** W. Elliott Jones * Pat Layton

Henry K. Leadingham * Ollie C. Leathers *

Ruth Leathers *

Linda Wireman Jim Wolcott Bill Yount *

* Deceased ** Major Contributor



P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602

The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2018-19 OFFICE HOME

		OFFICE	н	Or
President Alex Fitzger	ald	227-1611	270-3	00-
President-Elect Fred Dea	ton	320-1476	6	95-
President NomineeDonna Hec	ker 859	9-846-4732	3	30-
Secretary/TreasurerJohn Av	vent	227-8609	2	23-
Sergeant-at-Arms Chuck Dickin	son		2	23-
Executive SecretaryPaula Rar	den		2	27-
Dir. Club Service	ker 859	9-846-4732	3	30-
Dir. Community ServiceZachary H	orn	223-1200	859-5	59-
Dir. Vocational Service Carmen Inn	nan	223-8261	502-3	20-
Dir. International ServiceBill Mi			2	23-
Dir. Youth Service Paola I	Roe	875-4500	859-4	02-
Dir. Public RelationsSteve Stev	vart	227-4556	757-6	53-
Chair, Membership Comm Diane Dehor	ney	352-2665	859-3	33-
Chair, Community Beautification. Gordon S				
Advisory DirectorKristen Cant	rell	875-1130	814-9	35-

E-MAIL -5963 fitzgerald@farmersbankky.com 5-5707 idd12354@bellsouth.net)-5835 DonnaHecker@aol.com -5542 bethavent@gmail.com -4156 yellowry@gmail.com -9573 rardenfam@wmconnect.com -5835 DonnaHecker@aol.com -8862 horn@mmlklaw.com -9750 chamber@frankfortky.info -0512 millerkyun@aol.com paola.roe@bankatfirst.com -6180 -1995 steve.stewart@state-journal.com Diane@pspl.org -3581

5-9750 kristin.cantrell@gmail.com

Barry Rassin - New Providence, Bahamas Rotary Club of East Nassau President, Rotary International Michael T. Owsley - Danville Governor of District 6710

NEIGHBORING CLUBS

	Monday:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library 12:00 noon
		Owenton-Smith House 12:10 p.m.
	Tuesday:	Lexington Sunrise-Shriners Hospital
		Georgetown-Galvin's on Main (Downtown) 12:00 noon
		Shelbyville-Centenary United Methodist 12:00 noon
	Thursday:	Lawrenceburg-Tonya's Buffet, 101 Hilltop Dr. 12:00 noon
	-	Lexington-Fasig Tipton 12:00 noon
ļ		Louisville-Galt House 12:10 p.m.

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: http://www.frankfort-rotary.org District website www.rotarydistrict6710.org Rotary International www.rotary.org/

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Vallev Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. Postmaster: Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



Service Above Self
VOL. NO. XLIII ISSUE NO. 34

August 22, 2018

Next Week's Program... Dr. M. Christopher Brown II is the

18th president of Kentucky

State University and founder of the Atwood Institute on Race, Education, and the Democratic Ideal.

A native of Charleston, South Carolina, Brown earned a Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education from South Carolina State University, a Master of Science in educa-



tion policy and evaluation from the University of Kentucky, and a Doctor of Philosophy in higher education from the Pennsylvania State University.

After earning his Ph.D., Dr. Brown joined the faculties of the University of Missouri-Kansas City, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and The Pennsylvania State University where he earned tenure. During a professional leave of absence, Dr. Brown served as executive director of the Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute of the United Negro College Fund (FDPRI/ UNCF), director at the American Educational Research Association (AERA), and vice president at the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE).

Dr. Brown was named professor and dean of the College of Education at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas before being appointed a university professor, executive vice president and provost at the historic Fisk University. He also served as the 18th president of the nation's first historically black land-grant institution – Alcorn State University – in Lorman, Mississippi, and as the inaugural executive vice president and provost of the Southern University and A & M College System in Louisiana.

Dr. Brown is the author/editor of 16 other books and monographs. He is the author or co-author of more than 100 journal articles, book chapters, and publications related to education and society. Regarded as an international scholar, he has lectured and/or presented research in various countries on six of seven continents – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. He is especially well known for his studies of historically black colleges, educational equity, and professorial responsibilities. His research and scholarly writing includes publications on education policy, governance/administration, and institutional contexts.

A former member of the South Carolina State University Board of Trustees, Dr. Brown is a member of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, the 100 Black Men of America, Rotary International, a 33rd degree Free and Accepted Mason Prince Hall Affiliation, and an ordained Baptist minister.

He is married to the former Adrienne Joyce Allen of Canton, Mississippi. Mrs. Brown is a middle school teacher.



Duane Ellis (right) received his 44 Year Perfect Attendance pin from Terry Shockley.

Make-ups for Aug. 15 Teresa Hockensmith Melinda Nunley Attendance Percentage: 68%

Make-ups Needed for Aug. 22

Houston Barber Harry Kirch Mark Kopp John Browning Bill Leroy Angela Bullock Bob Bullock Judy Mattingly Will Coblin Tim Nehring Annette Dupont-Ewing Chris Olds William Elam John Opsata Mark Hampton Paola Roe Paula Rutledge Joyce Honaker Carmen Inman Phil Webb Jeb Jarrell Amzie Wenning

Attendance Pins Awarded

Congratulations to Duane Ellis for 44 years and Angela Bullock for one year of perfect attendance.

Raffle

Thanks to Lee Troutwine for donating this week's raffle item.

Welcome New Members!

Name: Christine Richards Address: 238 Eastover Dr., Frankfort Hm: (502) 695-4865 Email: oma1224@gmail.com Classification: Judicial System – Retired Sponsor: Bill Miller

Name: Curt Sayre Address: 2000 Autumnview Lane, Frankfort Hm: (901) 282-3777 Email: Curtis.sayre@uss.salvationarmy.org Classification: Religious-Social Service Sponsor: Bill Bowker

Name: Maree Barney-Sutley Address: 212 S. Danbrook Way, Frankfort Hm: (907) 388-1606 Email: mareebsutley@gmail.com Classification: Executive Director – Retired Sponsor: Brenda Rice

Name: Stephen Sutley Address: 212 S. Danbrook Way, Frankfort Hm: (907) 388-1605 Email: docsutley@gmail.com Classification: Oral Surgeon – Retired Sponsor: Brenda Rice



New members inducted are, from left: Christine Richards, Maree Barney-Sutley and Stephen Sutley. Not pictured is new member Curt Sayre.