



THE Frank	ortarian
Illuur	THE OFFICIAL BULLETIN OF THE ROTARY CLUB OF FRANKFORT
	P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602

The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

#### OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2015-16 OFFICE HOME E-MAIL

PresidentDan Egbers	
President-ElectPaula Rutledge	
Secretary/TreasurerJohn Avent	
Sgt at Arms Chuck Dickinson	
Dir. Club ServiceKristen Cantrell	
Dir. Community ServiceGordan Saks	
Dir. Vocational Service Sally Clay Lanham	
Dir. International ServiceBill Bowker	
Dir. Youth Service Shirley Elkin	
Executive SecretaryPaula Rarden	
Advisory Director Joyce Honaker	
President Nominee Kristin Cantrell	
Dir. MembershipDonna Hecker	85
Dir. Public Relations Teresa Hockensmith	

	330-7139
223-1795	695-7430
227-8609	223-5542
	223-4156
875-1130	814-935-9750
	227-3369
	695-4472
	227-4852
875-0702	502-727-6645
	227-9573
472-4003	695-3373
875-1130	814-935-9750
859-846-4732	330-5835
	330-6299
	227-8609 875-1130 875-0702 472-4003 875-1130

**DRS: 2015-10EE-MAIL**9danegbers@yahoo.com0Paula.Rutledge@redcross.org2bethavent@gmail.com6yellowrv@gmail.com6willian.cantrell@gmail.com7Sallie.Artist@gmail.com7Sallie.Artist@gmail.com8Shirley@casaofthebluegrass7rardenfam@wmconnect.com7joycehonaker2000@yahoo.com8Kristin.cantrell@gmail.com9horkensmith57@hotmail.com

K.R. "Ravi" Ravindran, President ROTARY INTERNATIONAL Colombo, Sri Lanka Mike Kull - Louisville Governor of District 6710

#### NEIGHBORING CLUBS

T

Monday:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library	12:00	noon	
	Owenton-Smith House	12:10	p.m.	
Tuesday:	Lexington Sunrise-Shriners Hospital	7:00	a.m.	
	Georgetown-Central Bank (Downtown)	12:00	noon	
	Shelbyville-Centenary United Methodist	12:00	noon	
Thursday:	Lawrenceburg-Anderson Public Library	12:00	noon	
	Lexington-Fasig Tipton	12:00	noon	
	Louisville-Galt House	12:10	p.m.)	

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: <u>http://www.frankfort-rotary.org</u> The URL for the district website is <u>http://www.rotarydistrict6710.org</u> Rotary International Website is <u>http://www.rotary.org/</u>

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Valley Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. <u>Postmaster:</u> Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



Service Above Self

VOL. NO. XLI

ISSUE NO. 26

# June 29, 2016

## Next Week's Program...

Frankfort Fire Chief **Eddie Slone** will be discussing Automatic Aid as it relates



to Frankfort and Franklin County. An Automatic Aid Agreement between two or more Fire Departments results in the seamless dispatching of the nearest trained firefighters and equipment within an agreed upon area in order to more efficiently save lives and

property. The practice requires cooperation, common practices and training in order to be effective.

The City of Frankfort and Franklin County governments continue to work on a mutually beneficial agreement that will improve the efficiency of both fire departments without unduly leaving an area within either jurisdiction susceptible to any type of loss.

Eddie Slone began his career with the Frankfort Fire Department in 1994 as a fire-fighter and paramedic. He promoted through the ranks of the department and was appointed Chief in 2013.

Make-ups for June 22 David Weller

Attendance Percentage: 71%

### **Make-ups Needed for June 29**

Sami Allison Judy Mattingly John Avent Jonathan Mays Houston Barber Scott McCoun Karen Bearden Chris Olds William Bowker John Opsata John Browning Randy Roberts Paola Roe Rose Chisholm Boyce Crocker Bill Scott Steve Dooley **Regina Stivers** Annette Dupont-Ewing Kwang Suh William Elam Shad Tillow Alex Fitzgerald Jean Unglaub Charles Geveden Glenn Waldrop Eunice Gitau **Richard Watkins** Zachary Horn Philip Webb Doug Howard Amzie Wenning Carmen Inman Tyler West Arthur Kelly Paul Yancey Sam Marcus

## New Directors 2016-17

Sallie Clay Lanham was inadvertently omitted on the induction of new directors at today's ceremony. She will continue as Director of Vocational Service. Our apologies to Sallie for this mistake and look forward to her continued service in 2017.



Above, the ever dapper Barry Holder, Sr. addresses the Club.

at right, Dan Egbers and Paula Rutledge share a laugh.

The new Rotary leadership is shown below, left to right: Paula Rutledge, Shirley Elkin, Diane Dehoney, Dan Bruning, Chuck Dickinson, Fred Deaton, Donna Hecker, and Dan Egbers.

### **Board Action**

The board approved new member Michael Butler contingent upon no negative response after publication in the newsletter.

# **Monthly Make-up**

Note the Monthly Make-up meeting will be Monday, July 11th instead of Monday, July 4th at the New China Buffet at 12 noon. The guest speaker will be Paula Murphy, local Landscape Artist as well as one of the Artist that paint a mural at the new Kroger East.



