

J.W. "PAT" IRELAND FELLOWS

Bill Leroy, Jr.

Donald L. Armstrong Thomas Braun* Bobbye Brown "RB" Brown **Bob Bullock** Russ Cave John Chenault Ron Christopher Tom Cocklev Frank M. Dailey, Jr.* Ed Dance Don Dykman Nancy Edwards Duane V. Ellis **Greg Fuchs** Jim Graves * Polly Jo Green Charlie Hinds Teresa Hockensmith Barry K. Holder Barry K. Holder, Jr. Joyce Honaker Lucinda Houghland Douglas K. Howell R. Clay Hulette Arthur L. Kelly Denis G. King Joe R. Johnson * Joe Russell Johnson Bob Johnston W. Elliott Jones * Pat Layton Henry K. Leadingham * Ollie C. Leathers * Ruth Leathers *

* Deceased

Ann Dix Maenza Ethel Y. McCrav* **Bill Miller** John Lovd Jack Owens Carol M. Palmore John S. Palmore H.T. "Hub" Perdew* Brenda Rice Jim Richardson Len S. Shirrell* Terry Shockley Jim Smith* Leroy V. Smith* Sherrill G. Smith Dean M. Sorg Frank W. Sower** Minnie Lynn Sower* Ed Speer Richard D. Taylor Asa "Tip" Tipton* Lee Troutwine Ron Tyrer Kurt R. Vezner Pete Walsh Bill Webb Dave Weller Chuck Willis Diane Willis **Bill Wingfield** Ann Franklin Wingrove Linda Wireman Jim Wolcott Bill Yount

** Major Contributor



The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2017-18

President	d n n n er 859- n er n er n y
Dir. Membership Diane Dehone Dir. Public Relations Steve Stewa	y rt
Advisory DirectorPaula Rutledg	

OFFICE	E HOME	E-MA
875-1130	814-935-9750	kristin.c
227-1611	270-300-5963	fitzgeral
320-1476	695-5707	jdd1235
227-8609	223-5542	bethave
	223-4156	yellowr
320-1476	695-5707	jdd1235
859-846-4732	330-5835	DonnaH
223-1200	859-559-8862	horn@n
	223-0512	millerky
223-2424	859-248-8215	drcboni
	227-9573	rardenfa
352-2665	859-333-3581	Diane@
227-4556	757-653-1995	steve.ste
223-1795	695-7430	Paula.R

RS: 2017-18 E-MAIL kristin.cantrell@gmail.com fitzgerald@farmersbankky.com jdd12354@bellsouth.net bethavent@gmail.com yellowrv@gmail.com jdd12354@bellsouth.net DonnaHecker@aol.com horn@mmlklaw.com millerkyun@aol.com drcboni@yahoo.com rardenfam@wmconnect.com Diane@pspl.org steve.stewart@state-journal.com Paula.Rutledge@redcross.org

Ian H.S. Riseley – Victoria, Australia Rotary Club of Sandringham <u>President, Rotary International</u> H. "Missy" Hendley Eckenberg - Paducah Governor of District 6710

NEIGHBORING CLUBS

/londay:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library 12:00 noon			
	Owenton-Smith House 12:10 p.m.			
uesday:	Lexington Sunrise-Shriners Hospital 7:00 a.m.			
	Georgetown-Central Bank (Downtown) 12:00 noon			
	Shelbyville-Centenary United Methodist 12:00 noon			
hursday:	Lawrenceburg-Tonya's Buffet, 101 Hilltop Dr. 12:00 noon			
	Lexington-Fasig Tipton 12:00 noon			
	Louisville-Galt House 12:10 p.m.)			

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: <u>http://www.frankfort-rotary.org</u> The URL for the district website is <u>http://www.rotarydistrict6710.org</u> Rotary International Website is <u>http://www.rotary.org/</u>

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Valley Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. <u>Postmaster:</u> Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



Service Above Self

VOL. NO. XLII

September 13, 2017

Next Week's Program...

Ernie Lewis received his undergraduate degree from Baylor University in 1969, a Masters of Divinity from Vanderbilt University in 1973, and a Juris Doctoris (J.D.) from Washington University in 1977. He was a VISTA Volunteer in Minnesota in 1970. He was with the Department

of Public Advocacy from 1976 until 2008 in several different capacities, including appellate lawyer, local assistance branch manager, directing attorney of the Richmond Trial Office, and Regional Manager for the Central Kentucky Region.

He was appointed Kentucky Public Advocate in 1996, overseeing the statewide public defender system, and served in that capacity until 2008 when he retired from state government. Since 1985, he has been on the faculty of the National College of Criminal Defense located at Mercer Law School in Macon, Georgia. He served for two years as Chair of the American Council of Chief

Defenders from 2006-2007. He has worked on indigent defense issues with various groups in Georgia, North Carolina, Minnesota, Texas, Ohio, Indiana, Tennessee, and Louisiana. In 2000, he was named Outstanding Lawyer by the Kentucky Bar Association. In 2007, he was given the Champion of Indigent Defense Award by the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. In 2008, he was given the Chief Justice's Special Service Award. He received the Department of Public Advocacy's Professionalism and Excellence Award in 2003 and the Nelson Mandela Award in 2009. He served as Legislative Agent for the Kentucky Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers from 2009-2015. He was one of the founding board members of KACDI, and is serving as the President of KACDL during 2016.

He is now active in teaching public defenders, consulting, and representing an occasional client. Since January 2014, he has been serving as the Executive Director of the National Association for Public Defense, an organization with almost 15,000 members, including 100+ organizations.

Make-ups for Sept. 6 William Elam Brenda Rice Harold Ellis Tom Utterback

Attendance Percentage: 75%

Make-ups Needed for Sept. 13

mane upp nocu	
Houston Barber	Melinda Nunley
John Browning	Chris Olds
Ron Christopher	John Opsata
Will Coblin	Randy Roberts
Annette Dupont-Ewing	Paola Roe
Mark Hampton	John Sower
Douglas Howard	Kwang Suh
Carmen Inman	James Terrell
Harry Kirch	Philip Webb
Judy Mattingly	Amzie Wenning
Jonathan Mays	Paul Yancey

Teresa Hockensmith

Newsletter Information

Please be advised that the paper version of the Sept. 20 and 27 newsletter will not go in the mail until early October. There will be an email version sent out for those meeting dates but it will be in a little different format. The publisher and printer will be on vacation those dates. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Monthly Board Meeting

Monthly Board Meeting Tuesday, Sept 26th at 5 p.m. for the monthly board meeting at 202 W. Main Street in the United Bank Corp. (formerly Farmers) Board Room on the 2nd Floor.



Richard Taylor stands with Mary Nishimuta, our speaker for the day. She co-owns the **Kentucky Coffeetree** Cafe and chairs the **Kentucky Democratic** Party



From left: Orman Wright, Dan Kelly, Arthur Kelly and Dick Watkins. Gordon Saks has his back to the camera.



ISSUE NO. 37