

YEARS OF PERFECT ATTENDANCE				
Charlie Hinds Barry K. Holder Duane Ellis Terry Shockley				

<b>O N N N</b>	
Charlie Hinds	
Barry K. Holder	
Duane Ellis	
Terry Shockley	
Bill Miller	
Sherrill Smith	
Ed Dance	33 Years
Barry K. Holder, Jr	31 Years
Jim Richardson	
Lee Troutwine	
Bob Bullock	
Joe Russell Johnson	
John Palmore	
Steve Dooley	
David Weller	
Polly Green	
Clay Hulette	
Don Dykman	
Ron Christopher	
Pat Badgett	
Dennis VanHorn	
John Loyd	
Richard Boyer	13Years
Ted Collins	12Years
Richard Watkins	12Years
Arthur Kelly	
RB Brown	
Gregory Fuchs	
Orman Wright	
Richard Taylor	8 Years
Tom Utterback	
Carol Palmore	
Presley Winner	
John Sower	
Joyce Honaker	
John Avent	
Brenda Rice	
Dudley Ellis	
Don Dampier	
Charlie Geveden	
Tim Pennington	
Sallie Lanham	
Dave Steele	
Dan Egbers	
Gordon Saks	
Mary Saks	
James Shepherd	
Jim Wolcott	1 Year
William Webb	
Christina Harrison	
Teresa Hockensmith	



The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

#### **OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2015-16 OFFICE** HOME

	President	Dan Egbers	
	President-Elect	Paula Rutledge	
	Secretary/Treasurer	John Avent	
	Sgt at Arms		
	Dir. Club Service		
	Dir. Community Service	Gordan Saks	
	Dir. Vocational Service	Sally Clay Lanham	
	Dir. International Service.	Bill Bowker	
	Dir. Youth Service	Shirley Elkin	
	Executive Secretary	Paula Rarden	
	Advisory Director	Joyce Honaker	
	President Nominee	Kristin Cantrell	
	Dir. Membership	Donna Hecker	859
(	Dir. Public Relations7		

	330-7139	daı
223-1795	695-7430	Pa
227-8609	223-5542	bet
	223-4156	yel
875-1130	814-935-9750	kri
	227-3369	go
	695-4472	Ša
	227-4852	Wi
875-0702	502-727-6645	Sh
	227-9573	rar
472-4003	695-3373	joy
875-1130	814-935-9750	kri
859-846-4732	330-5835	Do
	330-6299	ho

**E-MAIL** anegbers@yahoo.com aula.Rutledge@redcross.org ethavent@gmail.com ellowrv@gmail.com istin.cantrell@gmail.com ordonsaks@hotmail.com allie.Artist@gmail.com VilliamBowker3@gmail.com nirley@casaofthebluegrass rdenfam@wmconnect.com vcehonaker2000@vahoo.com istin.cantrell@gmail.com onnaHecker@aol.com ockensmith57@hotmail.com

K.R. "Ravi" Ravindran, President ROTARY INTERNATIONAL Colombo, Sri Lanka Mike Kull - Louisville Governor of District 6710

#### **NEIGHBORING CLUBS**

Monday:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library	12:00	noon
	Owenton-Smith House	12:10	p.m.
Tuesday:	Lexington Sunrise-Shriners Hospital	7:00	a.m.
	Georgetown-Central Bank (Downtown)	12:00	noon
	Shelbyville-Centenary United Methodist	12:00	noon
Thursday:	Lawrenceburg-Anderson Public Library	12:00	noon
	Lexington-Fasig Tipton	12:00	noon
	Louisville-Galt House	12:10	p.m.

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: http://www.frankfort-rotary.org The URL for the district website is http://www.rotarydistrict6710.org **Rotary International Website is** http://www.rotarv.org/

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Valley Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. Postmaster: Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



Service Above Self VOL. NO. XLI **ISSUE NO. 22** 

June 1, 2016

## Next Week's Program...

Al Cross is director of the Institute for Rural Journalism and Community Issues, which helps rural news media define the public



agenda in their communities and cover broader issues that have local impact. He is an associate extension professor of journalism and the only tenured professor doing extension work at the University of Kentucky outside the College of Agriculture.

Cross helped organize the Institute, which has academic partners at 28 universities in 18 states. He became director in 2004 after more than 26 years as a reporter at The Courier-Journal, the last 15<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> as chief political writer. He still writes a political column at least twice a month for the Louisville newspaper and is a commentator on KET's election-night programs.

His awards include the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame, the James Madison Award for service to the First Amendment, the 2009 Media Award of the East Kentucky Leadership Foundation and a share of the Pulitzer Prize won by The Courier-Journal's staff in 1989 for coverage of the nation's deadliest bus and drunk-driving crash. He was national president of the Society of Professional Journalists in 2001-02, and holds the Wells Key, SPJ's highest member award. He is a director of SPJ's Sigma Delta Chi Foundation and secretary of the Kentucky Judicial Campaign Conduct Committee.

Cross is a native of Albany and a graduate of Western Kentucky University. He edited and managed weekly newspapers in Monticello, Russellville and Leitchfield before joining The Courier-Journal in 1978, working in bureaus in Somerset and Bardstown before joining The C-J's Frankfort Bureau in 1987. He became political writer in 1989, covering politics from local to presidential elections, including nine national conventions.

#### Make-ups Needed for June 1

Karen Bearden **RB** Brown John Browning Will Coblin Betty Creek Boyce Crocker Diane Dehoney Annette Dupont-Ewing Paula Rutledge Charles Geveden Zachary Horn **Douglas Howard** Carmen Inman Sam Marcus

Judy Mattingly Scott McCoun Chris Olds John Opsata Josian Passalacqua Randy Roberts Paola Roe Philip Shepherd **Regina Stivers** James Terrell Glenn Waldrop Amzie Wenning

#### **Note Worthy**

Please note that Bhikhu Chauhan will still be an active member of the club until June 30.

# Well Said...

A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do. -Bob Dylan, singersongwriter (b. 24 May 1941)

### **Monthly Make-up Meeting**

The Make-Up Meeting will be held on June 6, 2016 at the Chinese Restaurant near K-Mart. Guest speaker will be Travis Kelley and the topic will be beekeeping.

### **Attendance Pins Awarded**

Congratulations to the following Rotarians who received their Perfect Attendance pins for May: Arthur Kelly, 12 yrs; and Don Dampier, five years.



Above, Attendance Pins were given out; at right, today's guest speaker was Larry W. Moore, Broadstone Media; below, Richard Taylor; below right, new Rotarian Rose Chisholm tells us a bit about herself.



Happy Birthday to fellow Rotarians Chuck Dickinson, Shirley Elkin, George Gill, Eunice Gitau, John Opsata, Jim Wolcott, and Paul Yancey, who celebrate their birthdays in June.

### **Board Action**

The board approved new members Shad Tillow and Jean Unglaub contingent upon no negative response after publication in the newsletter.





