Periodicals Class Postage

PAID

at FRANKFORT, KY 40601



The Rotary Foundation Paul Harris Fellows

McCray, Emel

Miller, Paula F.

Noble, David

Miller, William A.

Nunnelly, Donald

Newman, Sherry Lynn

Bain, Tonya M. Braun, Thomas Brockman, James M. Brown, Bobbye Belwood Brown, R.B. Bullock, Robert V. Bush, Vaughn M. Bustin, Andrew G. Cave, Russell Chandler, A.B. Chenault, John C. Chenault, Mary Elizabeth Christopher, Ron Clawson, Kim Eliz. Holder Coblin, Granville Cockley, William Coomes, Roger A. Crossmari, Tom Dance, Edward L. Dance, Susan Gerth. Davis, Edward T. Dooley, Steve Dryden, Wally Dykman, Don Edwards, Nancy R. Egbers, Dan Ellis, Duane Ellis, Harold D. Fraass, Linda Fraass, Ron Fuchs, Gregory Fudge, Carl Fugate, Thomas Gerard, John I. Gillig, John S. Graves, James Green, Polly A. Hicks, Robert Hinds, Charles Hinds, Joseph Holder, Barry K. Holder, Barry K. Jr. Holder, Helen S. Holder, Pamela Marie Honaker, Joyce Hulette, R. Clay Isaac, Tom D. Johnson, Jane Gibbs Johnson, Joe R. Johnson, Joe Russell Johnston, Robert Keller, David Kent, Wallace King, Denis Kitson, Lagene Leadingham, Henry LeamerUy, Harold Leathers, Ollie C. Leathers, Ruth Leroy, Bill Loyd, John Marcus, Elliott R

Armstrong, Donald L.

Onkst, Wayne Owens, Jack Palmore, Carol M. Palmore, John Perdew, H.T. Rarden, Paula Rawlings, John T. Rice, Brenda Richards, Christine Richards, Richard O. Richardson, James Ridgel, Gus Roach, L.M. "Poss" Rush, Martha Rush, Robert H. Rush, Willett H. Sandidge, David Scrivner, Michael L. Shepherd, James A. Shepherd, Dr. James Shirrell, Jack N. Shirrell, Joyce B. Shirrell, Len S. Shockley, Terry R. Shockley, Margaret Jo Shropshire, Grover Shropshire, Phyllis C. Smith, Jim M. Smith, LeRov Smith, Louise Grant Smith, Sherrill Sorg, Dean R. Sorg, Kelli Summers Sower, Frank W. Sower, John R. Sower, Minnie Lynn Speer, Edgar A. Stewart, William S. Thompson, Andrew M. Thompson, Edmond Tipton, A.I. Tipton, Mrs. Asa I. Troutwine, Lee Turner, Joseph L. Tyrer, Ronald Utterback, Tom VanHorn, Dennis Vesner, Kurt R. Walsh, Pete Watkins, Richard Webb, Wm. Bill Weitzel, Walter C. Weller, David Wilkinson, Wallace Glenn Willis, Charles S. Wingfield, William L. Wolcott, Jim



P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602

The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2014-15							
		OFFICE	HOME	E-MAIL			
President	Joyce Honaker	472-4003	695-3373	joycehonaker2000@yahoo.com			
President-elect	Dan Egbers		330-7139	danegbers@yahoo.com			
Secretary-Treasurer	John Avent	227-8609	223-5542	bethavent@gmail.com			
Sergeant-at-Arms			223-4156	yellowrv@gmail.com			
Director of Club Service		223-1795	695-7430	Paula.Rutledge@redcross.org			
Director of Community Service	eGordon Saks		227-3369	gordonsaks@hotmail.com			
Director of Vocational Service	Teresa Hockensmith		330-6299	hockensmith57@hotmail.com			
Director of International Service	e Wayne Onkst	564-8300	859-727-6460	Wayne.Onkst@ky.gov			
Director of Youth Services	Shirley Elkin	875-0702	502-727-6645	Shirley@casaofthebluegrass			
Executive Secretary	Paula Rarden		227-9573	Rardenfam@wmconnect.com			
Advisory Director	Dave Steele	227-9637	320-2120	davesteele72@hotmail.com			
President Nominee	Paula Rutledge	223-1795	695-7430	Paula.Rutledge@redcross.org			
Director of Membership	Kristin Cantrell	875-1130	814-935-9750	kristin.cantrell@gmail.com			
Director of Public Relations	Glenn Waldrop	352-4455	229-1743	Gwaldrop@fewpb.com			

Gary C.K. Huang, President ROTARY INTERNATIONAL Taipei, Taiwan

Jayne Cathcart Crisp - Murray Governor of District 6710

NEIGHBOR	ING CLUBS		
Monday:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library	12:00	noon
	Owenton-Smith House	12:10	p.m.
Tuesday:	Lexington Sunshine-LaFayette Club	7:00	a.m.
	Georgetown-Golden Corral	12:00	noon
	Shelbyville-Centenary United Meth	12:00	noon
	Versailles-At the Hospital	12:00	noon
Thursday:	Lawrenceburg-Anderson Public Library	12:00	noon
	Lexington-Fasig Tipton	12:00	noon
l	Louisville-Galt House	12:10	p.m.

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: http://www.frankfort-rotary.org
The URL for the district website is http://www.rotarydistrict6710.org
Rotary International Website is http://www.rotary.org/

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Valley Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. Postmaster: Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



DISTRICT 6710 • CLUB NO. 3717 • ORGANIZED DECEMBER 1922

Service Above Self

VOL. NO. XL

ISSUE NO. 3

Jan. 14, 2015

Next Week's Program...





John Higginbotham & Harvey Couch Frankfort Plant Board

FPB Assistant General Manager for Cable-Telecom John Higginbotham and Marketing & Video Content Coordinator Harvey Couch will discuss the state of cable television. "How to access and take advantage of FPB Cable TV technology."

Rotary International Dinner

Frankfort Club's annual International Dinner will be held on Feb. 26 at the Capital Plaza Hotel so members should put that date on their calendars!

Make-ups for Jan. 7

Pat Badgett Kristin Cantrell

Attendance Percentage: 63/5

Make-ups Needed for Jan. 14

Larry Arnett Byron Brewer Michael Carlos Ron Christopher Will Coblin Ted Collins Boyce Crocker Gary Crumbaugh William Elam Shirley Elkin Alex Fitzgerald Mark Hampton Jeff Hancock Lloyd Hillard Zachary Horn Douglas Howard

Carmen Inman

Arthur Kelly William Legg Derek Mallow Louis McClain John Norfleet Chris Olds Carol Palmore Randy Roberts Tim Rose John Sower Regina Stivers Mary Thomas Dennis VanHorn William Webb **Amzie Wenning** Michael Young

Happy Birthday!

Happy Birthday to fellow Rotarians Bob Bullock, Dan Egbers, Mark Hampton, Jeff Hancock, Teresa Hockensmith, Barry Holder, John Loyd, Sam Marcus, Carol Palmore, Brenda Rice, Lee Troutwine and Glenn Waldrop, who celebrate their birthday in January.

Board Action Jan. 12, 2015

Attending: Joyce Honaker, Chuck Dickinson, John Avent, Don Dykman, Gordon Saks, Mary Saks, Paula Rutledge, Dan Egbers, Wayne Onkst, Kristin Cantrell, and Paula Rarden.

- Approved the minutes of the December 15, 2014 board meeting. John Avent made the motion, second by Dan Egbers.
- Approved leave-of-absence for Larry Hadley from 12/31/14 to 4/7/15 and Jim

- Wolcott from 1/3/15 to 3/4/15. Dan Egbers made the motion, second by Gordon Saks.
- Acknowledged with regrets resignation of Bill Webb.
- Approved the December 2014 Financial report as presented by John Avent. Dan Egbers made the motion, second by Kristin Cantrell.
- President Joyce announced that FPB Cable 10 will be recording only the speaker portion of the weekly meeting.
- President Joyce noted that the RLI meeting will be held on 2/21/15 in Lexington.
- Listened to report from International Service Director, Wayne Onkst. He reported that the speaker for the RI Dinner on 2/26/15 will be Ambassador Carey Cavanaugh at the UK Patterson School of Diplomacy. There will also be a Silent Auction.
- Reviewed report from Youth Service Director Shirley Elkin. She reported that she has at least 3 students and possibly a few more for this year's Speech Contest. She has lined up all the judges, timekeepers and tellers.
- President-Elect Dan Egbers reported that he will be attending the PETS meeting from 3/20/15 to 3/22/15.
- Scheduled next board meeting for 2/16/15.



Above: Once and Future Rotarian Joe Johnson with President Joyce Honaker.

Below: Tim Pennington, Program Chair with presenters, Charles O'Neal and Bob Stevens of Kentucky Emergency Management.

