Periodicals Class Postage PAID at FRANKFORT, KY 40601



Barry K. Holder		
Duane Ellis		
Terry Shockley		
Bill Miller	33	Years
Sherrill Smith	32	Years
Ed Dance		
Barry K. Holder, Jr	30	Years
Jim Richardson	28	Years
Lee Troutwine	28	Years
Joe Russell Johnson	27	Years
Bob Bullock		
John Palmore	25	Years
Steve Dooley		
David Weller		
Clay Hulette		
Polly Green		
Pat Badgett		
Don Dykman		
Ron Christopher		
Dennis VanHorn	15	Years
John Loyd		Years
Richard Boyer	13	Years
Ted Collins		Years
Richard Watkins		Years
RB Brown		Years
Gregory Fuchs		Years
Arthur Kelly		Years
Richard Taylor		
Orman Wright		Years
Carol Palmore	7	Years
Tom Utterback	7	Years
John Sower	5	Years
Joyce Honaker	5	Years
Presley Winner	4	Years
Brenda Rice	4	Years
John Avent	4	Years
Sallie Lanham	3	Years
Charlie Geveden	3	Years
Dudley Ellis	3	Years
Don Dampier	2	Years
Tim Pennington	2	Years
Dave Steele		Years
James Shepherd	1	Year
Jim Wolcott	-	Year
William Webb	1	Year
Christina Harrison	1	Year
Teresa Hockensmith	1	Year



P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602

The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2014-15							
		OFFICE	HOME	E-MAIL			
President	Joyce Honaker	472-4003	695-3373	joycehonaker2000@yahoo.com			
President-elect	Dan Egbers		330-7139	danegbers@yahoo.com			
Secretary-Treasurer	John Avent	227-8609	223-5542	bethavent@gmail.com			
Sergeant-at-Arms	Chuck Dickinson		223-4156	yellowrv@gmail.com			
Director of Club Service	Paula Rutledge	223-1795	695-7430	Paula.Rutledge@redcross.org			
Director of Community Service	Gordon Saks		227-3369	gordonsaks@hotmail.com			
Director of Vocational Service.	Teresa Hockensmith		330-6299	hockensmith57@hotmail.com			
Director of International Service	e Wayne Onkst	564-8300	859-727-6460	Wayne.Onkst@ky.gov			
Director of Youth Services	Shirley Elkin	875-0702	502-727-6645	Shirley@casaofthebluegrass			
Executive Secretary	Paula Rarden		227-9573	Rardenfam@wmconnect.com			
Advisory Director	Dave Steele	227-9637	320-2120	davesteele72@hotmail.com			
President Nominee	Paula Rutledge	223-1795	695-7430	Paula.Rutledge@redcross.org			
Director of Membership	Kristin Cantrell	875-1130	814-935-9750	kristin.cantrell@gmail.com			
Director of Public Relations	Glenn Waldrop	352-4455	229-1743	Gwaldrop@fewpb.com			

Gary C.K. Huang, President ROTARY INTERNATIONAL Taipei, Taiwan

Jayne Cathcart Crisp - Murray Governor of District 6710

NEIGHBOR	ING CLUBS		
Monday:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library	12:00	noon
	Owenton-Smith House	12:10	p.m.
Tuesday:	Lexington Sunshine-LaFayette Club	7:00	a.m.
	Georgetown-Golden Corral	12:00	noon
	Shelbyville-Centenary United Meth	12:00	noon
	Versailles-At the Hospital	12:00	noon
Thursday:	Lawrenceburg-Anderson Public Library	12:00	noon
	Lexington-Fasig Tipton	12:00	noon
(Louisville-Galt House	12:10	p.m.

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: http://www.frankfort-rotary.org
The URL for the district website is http://www.rotarydistrict6710.org
Rotary International Website is http://www.rotary.org/

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Valley Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. Postmaster: Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



DISTRICT 6710 • CLUB NO. 3717 • ORGANIZED DECEMBER 1922

Service Above Self

VOL. NO. XXXIX

ISSUE NO. 24

August 20, 2014

Next Week's Program...

Chip Peal, a native of Hurricane, West Virginia, was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Frankfort Regional Medical Center



in Frankfort, Kentucky, in October 2006. Prior to joining Frankfort Regional, Chip served as the Chief Operating Officer at Alleghany Regional Hospital (Lewis-Gale Alleghany) in Low Moor, VA. He also served a brief stint

as Chief Executive Officer of Putnam General Hospital in Hurricane, West Virginia during its final period as an HCA facility. Other roles within HCA include Regional Director of Southwest Virginia/West Virginia for HCAPS (HCA Physician Services).

Chip earned a bachelor's degree in exercise physiology and a master's degree in cardiac rehabilitation from West Virginia University. He received a master's degree in business administration from West Virginia Graduate College. Prior to attending college, Chip served four years in the United States Marine Corps in

the infantry where he served in a variety of leadership roles including Fire Team Leader and Squad Leader.

Chip is very active in the Frankfort community and has served on a number of boards and community organizations including the YMCA, Rotary, and a variety of school athletic booster clubs. He also serves on the board of the Kentucky Hospital Association.

Make-ups for Aug. 13

Steve Dooley

Shirley Elkin

Attendance Percentage: 64%

Make-ups Needed for Aug. 20

Larry Arnett William Legg Clay Barkley Derek Mallow Beth Basler Travis Mayo Byron Brewer Jonathan Mays Dan Bruning Scott McCoun Sarah Butler Michelle New Will Coblin Chris Olds Ted Collins Pamela Olds Bovce Crocker Wayne Onkst Fred Deaton John Opsata **Gregory Fuchs** Carol Palmore Larry Hadley Josian Passalacqua Jeff Hancock Tim Rose John Hibbard Dave Steele Lloyd Hillard Regina Stivers Zachary Horn James Terrell Douglas Howard Dennis VanHorn Carmen Inman **Amzie Wenning** Arthur Kelly Michael Young Sallie Lanham

Attendance Pins Awarded

Congratulations to the following Rotarians who received their Perfect Attendance pins for August: Duane Ellis, 40 years; Ron Christopher 17 years; Tom Utterback, seven years; Brenda Rice, four years; and Teresa Hockensmith, one year.

Board Action Aug. 18, 2014

Attending: Joyce Honaker, John Avent, Shirley Elkin, Dan Egbers. Teresa Hockensmith, Gordon Saks, Paula Rutledge, Glenn Waldrop, Mary Saks, Steve Dooley, Duane Ellis, Dudley Ellis and Paula Rarden.

- * Approved the minutes of the July 28, 2014 board meeting. Paula Rutledge made the motion, second by John Avent.
- * Approved leave-of-absence for Christina Harrison from 8/1/14 to 12/31/14. Teresa Hockensmith made the motion, second by Glenn Waldrop.
- * Acknowledged with regrets resignation from Brian Booth.
- * Approved the July 2014 Financial report as presented by John Avent. Dan Egbers made the motion, second by Teresa Hockensmith.
- * Approved the disbursement for \$250 to be paid to the Commonwealth of Kentucky for Citation No. 2014-0214. John Avent made the motion, second by Teresa Hockensmith.



Our speaker Bill Coffey and Program Chair Pat Badgett

- * Acknowledged the RLI conference will be 8/23/14 in Lexington. The club will have 6 members attending.
- * Listened to report from Club Service Director, Paula Rutledge. She reported that she was working on the yearly picnic and would have sign-up sheets at the next couple of weekly meetings to see who might attend.
- * Listened to report from Youth Service Director, Shirley Elkin. She reported that she was working on the RYLA Scholarship, Speech Contest and that a KSU student is interested in getting a Rotaract Club started.
- * Public Relations Director, Glenn Waldrop reported that he will be working with Cable 10 to make a commercial for Rotary in the next couple of months.
- * Approved leave-of-absence for Michael Carlos from 8/1/14 to 9/10/14. Teresa Hockensmith made the motion second by Dan Egbers.
- * Scheduled next board meeting for September 15, 2014.



H.B. Dethridge was visiting from the Florence club