YEARS OF PERFECT ATTENDANCE

Frank Sower	63	Year
Len Shirrell		
Charlie Hinds		
Barry K. Holder		
Duane Ellis		
Terry Shockley	30	Year
Bill Miller		
Sherrill Smith	29	Year
Ed Dance		
Barry K. Holder, Jr		
Jim Graves	26	Year
Joe Russell Johnson	26	Year
Jim Richardson	25	Year
Lee Troutwine	25	Year
Bob Bullock	24	Year
John Palmore	22	Year
Steve Dooley	19	Year
David Weller	18	Year
Clay Hulette	18	Year
Polly Green	17	Year
Nancy Edwards	17	Year
Pat Badgett	16	Year
Don Dykman	15	Years
John Loyd	13	Year
Dennis VanHorn	13	Year
Ron Christopher	13	Year
Ted Collins	12	Year
Bob Johnston	12	Year
Wallace Kent	11	Year
Richard Boyer	11	Year
RB Brown	10	Year
Gregory Fuchs	10	Year
Tom Braun	10	Year
Richard Taylor	8	Year
Richard Watkins	8	Year
Arthur Kelly	7	Year
John Sower		Year
Joyce Honaker		Year
Orman Wright		Year
Carol Palmore		Year
Sallie Lanham		Year
Tom Utterback		Year
James Shepherd	1	Year
Jim Wolcott		Year
William Webb		Year
Presley Winner		Year
Brenda Rice	1	Year
John Avent		Year

PAID FRANKFORT, KY 40601 Periodicals Class Postage



P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602

The weekly meeting of the Frankfort Rotary Club airs on Cable 10 at 7pm Monday and 9am Tuesday

OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS: 2011-12					
		OFFICE	HOME	E-MAIL	
President	Christina Harrison	535-5710	859-425-1100	chrish@firstky.com	
President-elect	Charlie Geveden	564-7554	848-9022	cpgeveden@fewpb.net	
Secretary-Treasurer	John Avent	227-8609	223-5542	bethavent@gmail.com	
Sergeant-at-Arms	Randy Roberts	803-0696	875-1675	unitedway@fewpb.net	
Director of Club Service	Dave Steele	227-9637	320-2120	dave@frankfortymca.org	
Director of Community Service	Ann Maenza	227-4556		admaenza@state-journal.com	
Director of Vocational Service	Steve Tobin	564-1502	895-987-3701	stevetobin@paris.com	
Director of International Service	Joe Passalacqua	352-4560	472-9532	cptjoe32@aol.com	
Director of New Generations	Brenda Rice		695-6008	BrendaVRice@hotmail.com	
Executive Secretary	Paula Rarden		227-9573	Rardenfam@wmconnect.com	
Public Relations Coordinator	Tom Utterback	803-1796	695-6008	tom@utterback.net	
Advisory Director	Nancy Edwards		695-4902	nre123@fewpb.net	

Kalyan Banerjee, President ROTARY INTERNATIONAL Vapi, Gujarat, India

Rick O. Baumgardner, Elizabethtown, KY Governor of District 6710

_			_
NEIGHBOR	ING CLUBS		
Monday:	Eminence-Henry County Public Library	12:00	noon
	Owenton-Smith House	12:10	p.m.
Tuesday:	Lexington Sunshine-LaFayette Club	7:00	a.m.
	Georgetown-Golden Corral	12:00	noon
	Shelbyville-Centenary United Meth	12:00	noon
	Versailles-At the Hospital	12:00	noon
Thursday:	Lawrenceburg-Anderson Public Library	12:00	noon
	Lexington-Fasig Tipton	12:00	noon
	Louisville-Galt House	12:10	p.m.

The Rotary Club of Frankfort Meets Every Wednesday at the Capital Plaza Hotel From 11:45 a.m. Until 1:00 p.m.

Frankfort Rotary Club website: http://www.frankfort-rotary.org The URL for the district website is http://www.rotarydistrict6710.org **Rotary International Website is** http://www.rotarv.org/

The Frankfortarian (USPS-384510) is published weekly by the Rotary Club of Frankfort, Paula Rarden, 1800 Benson Valley Rd., Frankfort, KY. Subscription price is \$1.00 per year. Periodicals Class Postage paid at Frankfort KY 40601. Postmaster: Send address changes to The Frankfortarian, P.O. Box 93, Frankfort, KY 40602.



DISTRICT 6710 • CLUB NO. 3717 • ORGANIZED DECEMBER 1922

Service Above Self

VOL. NO. XXXVI

ISSUE NO. 29

July 27, 2011

Next Week's Speaker

Terry Brooks is in his seventh year as Executive Director at Kentucky Youth Advocates (KYA). Kentucky Youth Advocates in the only group in the Commonwealth that focuses on children, youth and families through multiple policy lenses. That



unique role means that the mission of KYA is as simple as it is profound – to make Kentucky the best place in America to be young. As the independent voice for Kentucky's children and youth for more than thirty years, KYA addresses policy issues in a variety of areas, including economic well-being, health, safety, early childhood, K-12 education, immigrant/refugee youth, and juvenile justice. Before joining KYA, Dr. Brooks served as a teacher, principal and central office senior administrator in a variety of districts throughout Kentucky. His work in education reform and leadership has been cited by a number of sources. Recent presentations include a keynote entitled "Senioritis" at the White House Summit on High Schools. After earning his doctorate, Brooks accepted the appointment of Senior Associate for Reform at the Boston-based Community Training and Assistance Center. In this position, Brooks led a team consisting of educators, business leaders, and health and human service professionals with a focus on turn-around projects in a variety of American communities. Those projects focused on community-wide health, welfare, economic development and education initiatives.

Opening Exercise	Dudley Ellis
Greeter	. Nancy Edwards

Make-ups for July 20

Steve Dooley John Sower Sherrill Smith

Attendance Percentage: 78%

Make-ups Needed for July 27

Brenda Allen Chris Olds Wayne Onkst Larry Arnett Carol Palmore Michael Ball Bob Bullock John Palmore David Cobb John Sower Boyce Crocker Dave Steele Charles Dickinson Richard Taylor William Elam Steve Tobin Lloyd Hillard David Weller William Legg Amzie Wenning Larry Luebbers Tyler West Jason Middleton Paul Yancey

Attendance Pins Awarded

Congratulations to the following Rotarians who received their Perfect Attendance pins for July: Barry Holder, Jr., 27 years; Joe Johnson, 26 years; and John Avent, one year.

VFW Make-up Meeting

August VFW make-up meeting will be on Monday, August 1st at the VFW Hall on Second Street at Capital Ave.

Correction to Board Minutes July 18, 2011

Approved the Board of Directors for the Frankfort Rotary Youth Fund as follows:

President: Clay Hulette. Term expires 6/12 Vice-President: Jim Wolcott. Term expires 6/12

Secretary/Treasurer: Ron Christopher. Term expires 6/12

Board member: Bob Johnston. Term expires 6/14

Board member: Polly Green. Term expires 6/12



Sallie Lanham had as her guest BQ Chauhan. BQ is the manager of American Value Inn and hails from Zambia.



The speaker for the day was Jonathan Boyd of the Kings Center, pictured here with program chair Laura Owens.



Chuck Dickinson's guest was Jean-Pierre Siou.



Dennis Van Horn's guest was Susan Patrick. Chuck Harrison is also pictured at left.